Week 10

Week 10 - First Place
14-2 record
Jon Sandino & Adam Williams

3/10/2018 (Season 13)

Jon & Adam take first place

With only two losses on the night, Jon Sandino & Adam Williams dominated the competition in Week 10, going 14-2 to claim first place. For Jon, it is his third top finish this season, and for Adam, his first of the season. Their perfect overtime record helped them finish above the second place team of Eric Klavoon & Shane Nelson, who went 13-3. In a tie at 10-6, Matt Nelson & Trevor Trethewey beat Josh Greenauer & Tim Klavoon in head-to-head play to finish in third place.

In 5th place was Alex Reinecke & Matt Lafferty, putting up a 9-7 record, followed by Dana Misenheimer & Kyle Merrifield at 8-8, who beat Austin Matteson & Chad Cowell (also 8-8) in head-to-head play to land 6th place. There was one other tie between Bob Greenauer & Evan Sardo and Connor Matteson & Kim Miller for 9th place. Since they split the head-to-head series, these teams faced off in a tiebreaker game, where Bob & Evan won.

Jon & Adam and Josh & Tim led with three perfect games thrown this week, followed by Eric & Shane and Connor & Kim M with two perfect games thrown. Austin & Chad also throw one perfect game.

It was definitely a night of Instant Wins, with a total of four of them being thrown. Kyle Merrifield threw two of them, and both coming at the end of the game after the other team closed out. His shots beat Kim Klavoon & TJ Burns and Alex & Matt L. As his first season playing full time in league, this marked his first Instant Wins in league play. The other shots were a long time coming for both players. After Jon & Adam closed out and threw a perfect game, Eric Klavoon threw an Instant Win on the very last throw to steal the victory on the first game of the night. For Eric, it is his first Instant Win in almost seven full seasons of league; his last Instant Win was shot back in Season 7 (75 league weeks ago). Matt Nelson also threw an Instant Win to beat Austin & Chad. For Matt, it is his first Instant Win since Season 8, over five and a half seasons ago.

No question, the top team in overtime was Jon & Adam, going a perfect 7-0 in overtime games. In doing so, Jon Sandino ties Josh Greenauer for the most all-time overtime wins in a single season with 42. Next best this week was Alex & Matt L, who went 4-2, while Eric & Shane went 3-1 in overtime games. Austin & Chad led with a total of nine overtime games played.

There were three games that went as far as four overtime rounds to decide. These were: Jon & Adam beat Josh & Tim, Eric & Shane beat Bob & Evan, and Alex & Matt L defeated Bob & Evan.

The weekly random prize drawing was won by Shane Nelson, and he chose a $15 gift card to Darden (Olive Garden/Red Lobster/Longhorn Steakhouse).

With enough wins this week, Jon Sandino, Eric Klavoon, and Austin Matteson join Connor Matteson in the 100-win club this season. For Jon, it is his 5th time reaching 100 wins in a season, for Eric, his 13th time, and for Austin, his 2nd time. Only one other player is in reach of this milestone with one week left; Evan Sardo sits at 87 wins, just 13 wins shy of hitting 100 wins.

Well, this is it! Just one week left on the season to crown a league champion, and it couldn't get any closer heading into the final league night. After holding the #1 spot all season, Connor Matteson is now tied with Jon Sandino at 176 points. Connor wins the tiebreaker with one more win than Jon, but it will definitely come down to the final week to see who will win the league title. Eric Klavoon (169) remains in third place, but has closed the gap and is still in reach, trailing Connor and Jon by seven points. Austin Matteson keeps hold on 4th place at 159 points, and there is a pretty tight battle for the last spot in the top 5. Evan Sardo remains in 5th place at 148 points, but Matt Nelson is just one point behind at 147 points, followed closely behind by Josh Greenauer at 145 points. Should make for an interesting finish!

The final league night is Saturday, March 24th, 2018 at 7:30 pm and will go until 10:30 pm (later end time for season wrap-up). The event is in Team App, and all players can RSVP to reserve their spot.


PlaceTeamTotal PointsPlacement PointsGames PlayedWLWinning %Instant WinsPerfect GamesOT GamesOT WinsOT Losses
1Adam Williams & Jon Sandino2511161420.87503770
2Eric Klavoon & Shane Nelson2310161330.81212431
3Matt Nelson & Trevor Trethewey199161060.62510734
4Josh Greenauer & Tim Klavoon188161060.62503734
5Alex Reinecke & Matt Lafferty16716970.56200642
6Dana Misenheimer & Kyle Merrifield14616880.50020211
7Austin Matteson & Chad Cowell13516880.50001945
8Kim Klavoon & TJ Burns104166100.37500725
9Bob Greenauer & Evan Sardo83165110.31200826
10Connor Matteson & Kim Miller72165110.31202312
11Jeff Clemo & Drew Hynes11160160.00000000